Florida’s minimum wage will increase from $7.67 per hour to $7.79 per hour effective January 1, 2013.
A voter-approved constitutional amendment established a Florida minimum
wage and provided for an annual adjustment to reflect increases in
consumer prices (inflation). The annual calculation is based on the
percentage increase in the federal Consumer Price Index for Urban Wage
Earners and Clerical Workers in the South Region.
The minimum wage for tipped employees will also increase on January 1,
2013. Tipped employees must earn at least $4.77 per hour in direct
wages, up from $4.65 in 2012. If the combination of the employee’s wages
and tips is less than $7.79 per hour in 2013, employers must make up
Employers found to have intentionally violated the state’s minimum wage
requirements may be subject to a fine of $1,000 per violation.
employers should ensure that employees are paid at least $7.79 per hour
by January 1, 2013 and that the updated Florida minimum wage notice is
Contact Riggins Law Firm for more information about the changes. 352-433-2400.